The development of the Palo Alto Unified School District’s Facilities Master Plan has occurred during the 2017-18 academic year with the guidance and assistance from many members of district staff, consultants and community members.  The following people deserve special recognition for their contributions to this document.

Board Members
Ken Dauber                                                                
Melissa Baten Caswell
Jennifer DiBrienza
Todd Collins
Shounak Dharap
District Senior Cabinet Staff
Name Title
Don Austin Superintendent
Jim Novak       Chief Business Officer
Sharon Ofek     Chief Academic Officer, 6-12
Barbra Harris           Chief Academic Officer, PK-5
Ron Ellis     Director, Maintenance, Operations & Transportation
Ron Smith     Director, Facilities & Construction
Bob Golton        Bond Program Manager
Department Advisers
Name Title
Alma Ellis   Special Education Director
Stephanie Sheridan Special Education Director
Alva Spense  Nutrition Services Director
Li Ezzell  Art Coordinator
Nancy Coffey  Music and PE Coordinator
Shannon Colman  Young Fives Principal
Dave Hoshiwara Adult School
Advisory Committees

Elementary Schools

Name Title
Chris Grierson                               Duveneck Principal
Katy Bimpson                               Hoover Principal
Hillary Miller    Palo Verde Principal
Mary Bussman     Walter Hays Principal
Shannon Colman       Young Fives Principal
Li Ezzell   Art Coordinator
Nancy Coffey  Music and PE Coordinator

Secondary Schools

Name Title
Kathleen Laurence                        Gunn Principal
Tara Keith       Gunn VP
Adam Paulson              Paly Principal
Jerry Berkson                                Paly AP
James Lubbe       Green VP
Melissa Howell                             Fletcher Principal
Adam Nelson                                 JLS VP
Dave Hoshiwara                           Adult School
Elementary School Site Advisory Members


Name Title
Amanda Boyce Principal

Barron Park

Name Title
Eric Goddard Principal
Amy Love Clerk


Name Title
Tom Jacobowsky – Principal Principal
Sharon Fisher – Clerk Clerk


Name Title
Chris Grierson Principal
Elaine Saussotte Admin Assis
Valerie Rainey Parent

El Carmelo

Name Title
Danae Reynolds Principal
Existing Project Underway


Name Title
Chuck Merritt  Principal
Soo Jin Kim Site council
Eva Born Site council
Marisol Vazquez Teacher


Name Title
Grant Althouse Principal
Robin Kozina Teacher
Valerie Sabbag Teacher
Claire Kirner  Parent


Name Title
Mary Bussmann  Principal
Ruta Henard  Assistant

Palo Verde

Name Title
Hillary Miller Principal
Susan Kim Teacher


Name Title
Katy Bimpson Principal
Existing Project Underway


Name Title
Mary Pat O’Connell   Principal
Ann Kwolek Teacher/Parent/PTA Rep
Becky Brewer Secretary


Name Title
Dawn Yoshinaga Principal
Jane Dick  Admin Assis
Frankie Murray Teacher
Jennifer DiBrienza  Parent
Kim Klikoff Parent
Secondary School Site Advisory Members

Middle School

JLS Middle School

Name Title
Adam Nelson Assistant Princ.
Judy LuKensmeyer Princ. Secret.
Sergio Navarro Custodian
Ericka Berkson Phys. Education
Eric Angel   Tech
Ann Lorey Sci. IL/Tosa

Greene Middle School

Name Title
Valerie Royaltey Quandt Principal
James Lubbe Dean
Tammy Warr Science Teacher
Teri Gilber CTE
Sue Pound CTE, Science, Tech & Tosa
Don Ouellette Custodial

Ellen Fletcher Middle School

Name Title
Melissa Howell Principal
Leonel Argumedo  Assistant Principal

High Schools

Gunn High School

Name Title
Kathie Laurence Principal
Tara Keith Assis. Principal
Teri Lee Special Education
Curt Johnson Athletic Director
Todd Summers Visual Arts
David Bisbee  Social Studies
Carole Main Admin
Christopher Bell Technology
Lisa Hall Student Activities

Palo High School

Name Title
Jerry Berkson Assis. Principal
Paul Kandell  Journalism Teacher
Rachel Kellerman Librarian
Education Council  
Consulting Staff
Name Title
Thomas Hodges        fs3Hodges
Jessica Resmini         fs3Hodges
Lisa Gelfand   Gelfand Partners Architects
Erwin Lee    HED Architects